Close this search box.



Our 2023-24 Board of Directors and Leaders

To get where the veterinary profession needs to go, it takes a dynamic group of people leading the way. Get to know our leadership team.
Vanessa Serratore

DVM, Residency-Trained Small Animal Surgeon


Katrina Backus


Past President​

Kevin Snyder



Rosemarie Lombardi



Judy Montalbano



Jim Delker


Legislative Liaison

Amanda Taylor


AVMA Delegate

Sarah Coburn


AVMA Alternate Delegate

McKayla Dick


Member At Large

Patricia Anderson


Executive Director

Be Our Next Rising Leader

AVMA Leadership / Conference Jan. 9 - 11

AKVMA is inviting members that are in their 0-15 post-graduation years to apply for paid registration, air fare, and lodging to the 2025 AVMA Leadership Conference. Next year’s conference will be January 9-11, 2025 in Chicago. One AKVMA member will be selected for this exceptional opportunity! You’ll join AKVMA’s president-elect and our AVMA delegates in attending this event!

Apply by Nov. 1, 2024 — Submit a short summary describing why you became a veterinarian, where you see yourself in the next 10 years and how you think attending the conference will be of benefit to you and your practice.

The veterinarian selected will be notified in November and asked to write a summary of their experience for the AKVMA News after attending the event next January.

Still have questions? We're here to help.

AKVMA has board positions every year that become open. Board directors must be members of AKVMA, residents of Alaska, and elected to the board. Elections occur during the AKVMA membership meeting during the AKVMA fall symposium. If you are interested in serving on the board please email [email protected]. AKVMA will also notify members about open board positions in our summer newsletter and interested individuals are invited to run for the position. 

A president-elect is elected each year. This individual serves 3 years on the board (1st year as president-elect, 2nd year as president, and 3rd year as past-president). The secretary and treasurer terms are 3 years with the option to serve another 3 years. The AVMA Delegate and AVMA Alternate Delegate are elected for 4 year terms. The board may appoint other positions as deemed necessary and either appoint or hold elections (i.e. legislative liaison and member at large) for the positions.

Board meetings are held at a minimum quarterly and are primarily via ZOOM meetings.