Get Involved

Members Make the Difference! Get Involved Today!

As an AKVMA member you are part of a well-recognized and highly respected group of veterinarians in Alaska.

AKVMA is governed by a board of directors comprised of nine AKVMA members that are licensed veterinarians in the state of Alaska.


Our 2023-2024 Board Members Are:


Dr. Katrina Backus (North Pole, AK)
Past President


Dr. Vanessa Serratore (Palmer, AK)


Dr. Kevin Snyder (Palmer, AK)


Dr. Judy Montalbano (Wasilla, AK)


Dr. Rosemarie Lombardi (Chugiak, AK)


Dr. Jim Delker (Soldotna, AK)
Legislative Liaison


Dr. Amanda Taylor (Wasilla, AK)
AVMA Delegate


Dr. Sarah Coburn (Chugiak, AK)
AVMA Alternate Delegate


Dr. McKayla Dick (North Pole, AK)
Member at Large



How You Can Be Involved


The AKVMA board of directors welcome members to assist on task forces and to engage in advocacy on legislative positions.  We also encourage members that are interested in serving on the Board to contact any board member or the Executive Director of AKVMA.  Board positions are voted on at the annual membership meeting and include the president-elect, secretary, treasurer, AVMA delegate and alternate delegate.  The elected board members appoint other members that are needed including the member at large and the legislative liaison.



BE OUR NEXT VETERINARY LEADER to participate in the AVMA Leadership Conference (AVMA LC)


AKVMA sponsors all expenses paid to the AVMA LC for a “Veterinary Leader.”  AKVMA invites members that are recent graduates (0-5 years post-graduation) or are in their 5-15 post-graduation years to apply.


Apply by November 1

Submit a short summary describing why you became a veterinarian, where you see yourself in the next 10 years and how you think attending the conference will be of benefit to you and your practice. Submit summary to Our “Veterinary Leader” will be selected and notified by November 10. A brief summary of the experience will be requested for our AKVMA News.